Digital Learning

We invite contributions to the Digital Learning Alternative Research Track

Digital Learning is identified as a key innovation with the potential to transform Teaching and Learning at all levels of formal education, professional development and informal learning. As a result Web Technologies are researched in relation to their capacity to provide learners with enhanced context-aware personalised learning experiences, to empower teachers with efficient tools for data-driven reflective teaching practice and to support educational organisations in effectively delivering transformable but sustainable educational services, such as Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) and "flipped" classrooms.

Recent world wide web advances such as internet of everything and cloud computing, computational intelligence and big data analytics, augmented reality and wearable technologies, adaptive context-aware and mobile technologies, affective computing and natural user interfaces, have been the technological focus of research in digital learning.

In this track we invite researchers and practitioners to submit original research and innovation work in all areas of digital learning. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Adaptive, Context-Aware and Personalised Technologies for Web-based Learning
  • Affective Computing for Learning in the Web
  • Artificial Intelligence and Smart Web-based Learning Environments
  • Augmented Reality and Virtual Worlds in Real Education
  • Cloud Computing in Web-based Education
  • Collaborative Technologies for Web-based Learning
  • Web Technologies for Open Learning At Large Scale
  • Educational Data Analytics
  • Internet of Everything in Formal and Informal Learning
  • Mobile, Pervasive and Ubiquitous Technologies for Learning
  • Natural User Interfaces for Teaching and Learning in the Web
  • Semantic Web in Education
  • Web Based Remote and Virtual Labs and Simulations for Technology-Enhanced Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Education (STEM)

Track Co-chairs:

Program Committee

Western Australia

  • Victor Alvarez (Murdoch University, Australia)
  • Sara de Freitas (Murdoch University, Australia)
  • David Gibson (Curtin University, Australia)
  • Vanessa Wang (Curtin University, Australia)
  • Paul Newhouse (Edith Cowan University, Australia)

Australia/New Zealand

  • Phillip Dawson (Deakin University, Australia)
  • Shane Dawson (University of South Australia, Australia)
  • Sue Gregory (University of New England)
  • Judy Kay (The University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Jon Mason (Charles Darwin University, Australia)
  • Abelardo Pardo (The University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Simon J. Buckingham Shum (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)
  • Deborah West (Charles Darwin University, Australia)
  • Ben Daniel (University of Otago, New Zealand)
  • Tanja Mitrovic (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)


  • Hiroaki Ogata (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Hiroyuki Mitsuhara (Tokushima University, Japan)
  • Masanori Yamada (Kyushu Univeristy, Japan)
  • Daniel Churchill (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Minhong Wang (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Nian-Shing Chen (National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan)
  • Gwo-Jen Hwang (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan)
  • Yu-Ju Lan (National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan)
  • Chin-Chung Tsai (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan)
  • Ronghuai Huang (Beijing Normal University, China)
  • Wu Yonghe (East China Normal University, China)
  • Sridhar Iyer (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)
  • Sahana Murthy (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)

North & South America

  • Eyhab Al-Masri (Wilfred Laurier University, Canada)
  • Kinshuk (University of North Texas, USA)
  • Erik Klopfer (MIT, USA)
  • Beverly Woolf (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • Ig Ibert Bittencourt (Universidade Federal de Alagoas, Brazil)
  • Ramón Zatarain Cabada (Culiacán Institute of Technology, Mexico)


  • Diana Andone (Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania)
  • Michail N. Giannakos (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
  • George Metakides (Digital Enlightenment Forum, Belgium)
  • Marcelo Milrad (Linnaeus University, Sweden)
  • Alexandra Poulovassilis (Birkbeck, University of London, UK)
  • Marcus Specht (Open University of Netherlands, The Netherlands)
  • Barbara Wasson (Bergen University, Norway)
  • Yacin Atif (University of Skovde, Sweden)


  • Mohammed Jemni (University of Tunis, Tunisia)
  • Hend Al-Khalifa (King Saud University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)


We seek the following kinds of submissions:

  • Full scientific papers: up to 8 pages in ACM format
  • Short scientific and position papers: up to 5 pages in ACM format

Submissions must be formatted using the ACM SIG template (as per the WWW2017 Research Track) available at:

The review process will be single-blind, and author names and affiliations should be listed. Each paper will be reviewed by at least two Program Committee members. The acceptance decisions will take into account paper novelty, technical depth, elegance, practical or theoretic impact, and presentation.

Please submit proposals via EasyChair in the Digital Learning track at:

Inquiries can be sent to:

Publication Process

All accepted papers will be included in the WWW2017 Companion Volume of Proceedings and made available through the ACM Digital Library and the conference website. See this Companion from WWW2016 at:

Authors of accepted papers will retain intellectual property rights to their work, but will be required to sign a copyright release form to IW3C2.

Accepted refereed papers, posters, and demos must be presented at the conference by an author who is registered to attend. Innovative presentations formats will be encouraged and supported. We require at least one author of each accepted submission to register by the early-bird deadline (specifically, one registered author may present multiple papers/posters/demos at the conference). Authors will be required to agree to this requirement at the time of submission.

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: Sunday, January 8, 2017
  • Acceptance notification: Tuesday, January 31, 2017
  • Camera-ready version due: Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Download this call for papers as a PDF [751kb]